The Brazilian Amazon Rainforest-Dry Season. Return to the lodge..my home. Part one

The Brazilian Amazon Rainforest-Dry Season. Return to the Lodge..My home…Part One.

This is what I was always faced with on my return to the lodge in late September, early October, taken from my diaries.

I took a fast boat back to the lodge from the town of Manacapuru. The journey took an hour and a half. The boat usually stopped close to the harbour, but because the water was so low at this time of year, the dry season, the boat had to beach far away on the opposite shore.

20130831-105050.jpg

20130831-105042.jpg
I walked along the pale sandy banks towards the logs that had been placed across the river, the only way to reach the now isolated lodge, passing as I did the pale shrunken, fetid, carcass of a caiman on the way.

20130831-105801.jpg
Tall skeletal trees close to the river bank held well fed vultures. This time of year being a food fest for the scavengers, who picked at the swollen or shrivelled bodies of dolphins and caiman, stranded on the sandy soil.

20130831-110009.jpg

20130831-110017.jpg
The previous inhabitants of the forest had built a makeshift bridge across the river. The tree trunks were thick and with a helping hand I was able to keep my balance until two-thirds of the way across. My feet were bare because dips and slips into the water were frequent, so as wearing shoes was pointless, I had taken them off. Most of the logs were smooth, but some were rough and eroded, with needle sharp and brittle bark, making the walk over them very painful.
The walkway closer to the harbour consisted of nothing more than thin trunks or wide branches, a human foot width wide, or crooked planks of bleached, warped wood. Balancing on these and keeping out of the waiting mud was a challenge. The weight of each footstep caused the branches and planks to sink into the mud, which oozed between my toes making my feet and the wood slippery, but eventually with the help of long balancing poles and a helping hand from a friend I made it and with a big sigh of relief reached solid home shore.

20130831-110136.jpg

20130831-110232.jpg
My feet were cut and bleeding and the next day the soles of my feet were covered in blisters, but I had got home safely. I almost knelt and kissed the ground. Almost…..instead we celebrated my arrival home with a cup of black coffee and manioc cake.
The boat driver returned the way we had come just as night fell. I heard his boat engine start in the distance and then fade away. I was alone in the Amazon Rainforest….again.

20130831-110341.jpg

2 thoughts on “The Brazilian Amazon Rainforest-Dry Season. Return to the lodge..my home. Part one

  1. Hello,

    I am a casting producer for an American television show about people buying homes abroad. I came across your blog and wanted to reach out to see if you might be interested in participating in an episode of our show. We are currently casting recent expats who live in remote areas, like the Amazon rain forest.

    House Hunters International tells the story of people who have picked up and moved to a foreign location to pursue a new life abroad. Being on our show is a lot of fun for our participants and is a great way for them to document their search for a new home.

    We are casting people who either have already bought/rented a home or are currently looking for a home in their new country. If you or anyone you now meet these qualifications please let me know. I would love to tell you more about our program and hear about your experiences in the Amazon.

    I look forward to hearing from you soon!

    Best,

    Rebecca

    • Hi Rebecca,
      Thank you for your offer. However I have to turn it down, as although I still own an area of Amazon rainforest the small lodge that I built on there has been burnt to the ground.
      I am unable to return there at the moment, if ever, and am looking for a buyer, but one that will protect the forest…a truly magical place.

      Best wishes
      Sally Garland
      Earth2mother.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

